Notes on the Galvanization

Daniel Uncapher

Abstract


Student essay (and response to the Women’s March) on a post-election political awakening from the perspective of the author, a handicapped, bisexual white male from North Mississippi currently studying creative writing at Notre Dame, with a special interest in the dynamics of fatherhood and patriarchy; extensively cited with contemporary news sources.

 


Full Text:

Uncapher

References


Ramsay, D. (2011). Eliot mourns death of longtime leader. Seacoastonline.com, 29 March. Available from: www.seacoastonline.com.

Kuznicki, J. (2017). Women’s March on Washington is Really a March Against Women, Science, and Life Itself. Conservative Review, 21 Jan. Available from: www.conservativereview.com.

Johnson, C. (2016). Confessions of a white moderate. The Chicago Tribune, 12 Dec. Available from: www.chicagotribune.com.

Wilhelm, H. (2017). ‘Women’s march’ morphs into intersectional torture chamber. Chicago Tribune, 12 Jan. Available from: www.chicagotribune.com.

Buttigieg, P. (2015). South Bend mayor: Why coming out matters. South Bend Tribune, 16 Jun. Available from: www.southbendtribune.com.

McLaughlin, S. (2017). Indiana mayor makes case for a fresh face at the DNC. The Washington Times, 18 Jan. Available from: www.washingtontimes.com.

Markay, L. (2017). DNC Chair Hopefuls Skip Women’s March for David Brock Donor Retreat. The Washington Free Beacon, 21 Jan. Available from: www.freebeacon.com.

Saiidi, U. (2016). Here’s why the majority of Brexit polls were wrong. CNBC, 4 Jul. Available from: www.cnbc.com.

Kanno-Youngs, Z and Kesling, B. (2017). Thousands Flood Cities’ Streets to Protest Donald Trump’s Immigration Ban. The Wall Street Journal, 30 Jan. Available from: www.wsj.com.

Walker, A. (2017). Are airports the new protest spaces of our globalized future? Curbed, 31 Jan. Available from: www.curbed.com.

Women’s march: Oxford residents march for America day after Trump inauguration. (2017). The Oxford Eagle, 21 Jan. Available from: www.oxfordeagle.com.

Criss, D. (2017). How do you spell protest on a beach in Maine? R-E-S-I-S-T. CNN, 31 Jan. Available from: www.cnn.com.

Tyson, A and Maniam, S. (2016). Behind Trump’s victory: Divisions by race, gender, education. Pew Research Center, 9 Nov. Available from: www.pewresearch.org.

Dreher, A. (2017). Arts Commission Facing Drastic Overhaul, With Gov. Bryant’s Support. Jackson Free Press, 30 Jan. Available from www.jacksonfreepress.com.

School Funding Formula Looms as Top 2017 Issue for Lawmakers. (2016). The Associated Press, 31 Dec. Available from: www.jacksonfreepress.com.

Berman, M. (2016). Mississippi governor signs law allowing businesses to refuse service to gay people. The Washington Post, 5 Apr. Available from: www.washingtonpost.com.

Lavers, M. (2016). Mississippi governor’s son reportedly victim of anti-gay attack. Washington Blade, 12 Apr. Available from: www.washingtonblade.com.

Rosenberg, M. (2017). Donald Trump’s use of fascist language forebodes a dark American future. Quartz, 24 Jan. Available from: www.qz.com.

Hicks, G. (1952). George Orwell’s Prelude in Spain. The New York Times, 18 May. Available from: www.nytimes.com.

Knowlson, J. (2014). Samuel Beckett’s biographer reveals secrets of the writer’s time as a French Resistance spy. Independent, 23 July. Available from: www.independent.co.uk.

Reed, J. (1919). Ten Days That Shook The World. International Publishers. Available from: www.marxists.org.

Froelich, P. (2015). Traveling in Lawrence of Arabia’s footsteps in Jordan. New York Post, 29 May. Available from: www.nypost.com.

Melville House, (2013). The Graveyard. [online] Available at: https://www.mhpbooks.com/books/the-graveyard/.

The F.M. Dostoevsky Literary Memorial Museum. F.M. Dostoevsky Literary-Memorial Museum in Semipalatinsk. [online] Available at: http://eng.md.spb.ru/dostoevsky/other_museums/semipalatinsk/?more.

Mead, W. (2016). Gertrude Bell: The Queen of the Desert. Bio, 14 Jul. Available from: www.biography.com.

Eco, U. (1995). Ur-Fascism. The New York Review of Books, 22 Jun. Available from: www.nybooks.com.

Graham, D. (2017). ‘Alternative Facts’: The Needless Lies of the Trump Administration. The Atlantic, 22 Jan. Available from: www.theatlantic.com.

Rayner, T. (2014). Meaning is use: Wittgenstein on the limits of language. Philosophy For Change, 11 Mar. Available from: www.philosophyforchange.wordpress.com.

Cohen, C. (2017.) Donald Trump sexism tracker: Every offensive comment in one place. The Telegraph, 20 Jan. Available from: www.telegraph.co.uk.

D’Antonio, M. (2016). Is Donald Trump Racist? Here’s What the Record Shows. Fortune, 7 June. Available from: www.fortune.com.

Donald Trump: Opposes Nationwide Marriage Equality. Human Rights Campaign, 2017. Available from: www.hrc.org.

Nichols, J. (2017). Trump Has Created a Constitutional Crisis. The Nation, 31 Jan. Available from: www.thenation.com.

Keneally, M. (2016). Experts Warn Against ‘Dangerous’ Rhetoric Surrounding Election. ABC News, 12 Oct. Available from: www.abcnews.go.com.

Carr, N. (2015). How Social Media Is Ruining Politics. Politico, 2 Sep. Available from: www.politico.com.

Dreher, A. (2017). Hundreds Protest for Women’s Rights in Jackson in Sister March to D.C. Jackson Free Press, 23 Jan. Available from: www.jacksonfreepress.com.

Kearney, L and Trotta, D. (2017). LGBT advocates scared, despite White House words on equality. Reuters, 31 Jan. Available from: www.reuters.com.

Politi, D. (2017). Trump Gives Steve Bannon, Champion of White Nationalism, Key National Security Seat. Slate, 29 Jan. Available from: www.slate.com.

Radosh, R. (2016). Steve Bannon, Trump’s Top Guy, Told Me He Was ‘A Leninist’ Who Wants To ‘Destroy the State.’ The Daily Beast, 22 Aug. Available from: www.thedailybeast.com.

Lyons, M. (2017). Ctrl-Alt-Delete: The Origins and Ideology Of The Alternative Right. Political Research Associates, 20 Jan. Available from: www.politicalresearch.org.

Miller, M. (2016). Film Star: Mississippi Flag an American, Not State, Problem. Jackson Free Press, 10 June. Available from: www.jacksonfreepress.com.

Golshan, T. (2017). The women who helped Donald Trump win. Vox, 21 Jan. Available from: www.vox.com.

Nkemere, C. (2017). Why I Will Always Be Conflicted About The Women’s March On Washington. Bustle, 31 Jan. Available from: www.bustle.com.

Zimmerman, J. (2017). The Myth of the Well-Behaved Women’s March. New Republic, 24 Jan. Available from: www.newrepublic.com.

Sebastian, S. (2015). Don’t criticize Black Lives Matter for provoking violence. The civil rights movement did, too. The Washington Post, 1 Oct. Available from: www.washingtonpost.com.

Peeples, M. (2015). The Racist History Behind the Iconic Selma Bridge. All Things Considered, 5 Mar. Available from: www.npr.org.

Day, E. (2015). #BlackLivesMatter: the birth of a new civil rights movement. The Guardian, 19 July. Available from: www.theguardian.com.

Yardley, W. (2017). At Standing Rock, a vow to stay and fight—though protesters face pressure on many fronts to leave for good. Los Angeles Times, 27 Jan. Available from: www.latimes.com.

Link, T. (2017). The Twitter rebellion: Badlands National Park is the latest national park to defy President Trump. Salon, 26 Jan. Available from: www.salon.com.

Lennard, N. (2017). Neo-Nazi Richard Spencer Got Punched—You Can Thank the Black Bloc. The Nation, 22 Jan. Available from: www.thenation.com.

Masters, C. (2017). Bills Across The Country Could Increase Penalties For Protesters. All Things Considered, 31 Jan. Available from: www.npr.org.

Darrow, B. (2017). Turns Out Attendance at Women’s March Events Was Bigger Than Estimated. Fortune, 23 Jan. Available from: www.fortune.com.

Krieg, G. (2016). It’s official: Clinton swamps Trump in popular vote. CNN, 22 Dec. Available from: www.cnn.com.


Refbacks

  • There are currently no refbacks.


Copyright (c) 2017 Daniel Uncapher

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.